Bibliophile.

Bibliophile [bib-lee-uh-fayhl, -fil]

-noun,

a person who loves collecting books.

~*~

I have always been bad at extempore.

Throughout my years at school, I excelled in elocution, speeches, and even the art of hosting, but when eight hundred hungry eyes stared at me, ready to pick me apart with any mistakes I made as weapons, and a topic would be thrown at me out of the blue, I would freeze.

My world would stand still and my mind would suddenly be wiped of all the knowledge that I had crammed into my head in preparation for that very moment. All the essays, poems, and articles that I had read based on that very topic would all walk out of my thinking space and they would make sure they slammed the door behind them.

You see, I have never been good at extempore.

But one day the professor decided to tell me to speak about a book that changed my life, and let me tell you this; of all the books I have ever read, and I have read aplenty, there have been none who have measured up to the amount of courage and strength this one has given me.

Books have always been my sanctuary. They have been pieces of magic that would transport me into a better reality when my own was getting a little hard to handle. Every piece of literature that I have been blessed enough to come across has changed a little part of me. I have fallen in love with the characters and been a part of so many different adventures.

It is not one, but seven books that had the most profound effect on my life, and it is far too obvious which. I spoke for minutes over time, about how I believe in magic now, even if I am smart enough to know that it does not come out the tip of a wand. I spoke about acceptance, about how it is okay to be feeble but have kindness triumph, to be ambitious, but be staunch in your beliefs, to be brave, and yet not be fearless, or to be wise, and yet be called irrational, or to be all of these, but not at the same time.

They taught me that it is okay if I am not always the hero in a chronicle, because sometimes, the hero is nothing without his supports. They taught me the worth of friendship and loyalty, of making the right choice, because our choices show who we truly are, far more than our abilities. They showed me that every character is important, and each death is followed by pain, tears and suffering, but at the end of the day, a lesson is learnt. 

They managed to ignite a spark in me where I thought it had died out, returning the magic to my muggle life.

But most of all, they taught me that happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if only one remembers to turn on the light.

 

Photo by Abhishek Na on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

